Skip to main content

COVID-19 in Communal Living Environments

Positive cases of COVID-19 among IU Bloomington students in communal living, such as Greek houses, continue to rise at an alarming rate. This is making it difficult to contain the spread of COVID-19 within these living environments and for houses to safely quarantine or isolate students.

Current information regarding Chapters in quarantine can be found at the Division of Student Affairs websitePositivity rate in the table is based on mitigation test results in the displayed timeframe. 

Positive cases by organization

Positive cases by organization
Organization Positive cases since Aug. 19 Mitigation testing results Aug. 24-29 positivity rate Mitigation testing results Aug. 30-Sept. 5 positivity rate Quarantine status as of Sept. 5 Organization contact
Acacia Fraternity 46 10.64% 80.43% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Dr. Randy Shoup
randyshoupdds@hotmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Michael Weber
mweber@acacia.org
(317) 872-8210
Alpha Chi Omega 46 4.92% 30.77% In quarantine
House Corporation Board 
axohcb866@gmail.com
Headquarters
info@alphachiomega.org
(317) 579-5050
Alpha Delta Pi 4 0% 0% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board 
betaalphahousecorp@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Carlie Lavin
clavin@alphadeltapi.com
(404) 378-3164
Alpha Epsilon Phi 20 9.80% 34.04% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President and Headquarters liasion
Bonnie Wunsch
bonwunsch@gmail.com
(203) 748-0029
Alpha Epsilon Pi 25 .90% 45.00% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Josh Schenk
josh@espondaassociates.org
Headquarters liasion
Jason Kirschtel
jkirschtel@aepi.org
(317) 876-1913
Alpha Gamma Delta 12 1.83% 10.53% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Megan Barrett
MBarrett@alphagammadelta.org
Headquarters liasion
Jenni Jones
jjones@alphagammadelta.org
(317) 663-4200
Alpha Omicron Pi 10 5.56% 1.69% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Mandy Doyle
mdoyle@alphaomicronpi.org
Headquarters liasion
Jackie Petrucci
jpetrucci@alphaomicronpi.org
(615) 370-0920
Alpha Phi 27 3.39% 31.82% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Kari Huffman
khuffman@alphaphi.org
Headquarters liasion
Leah Howell
lhowell@alphaphi.org
(847) 475-0663
Alpha Sigma Phi 19 19.61% 41.18% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Nick Miller
nmiller@alphasigmaphi.org
Headquarters liasion
Tabatha Sarco
tsarco@alphasigmaphi.org
(317) 843-1911
Alpha Xi Delta 14 6.67% 8.33% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Jennifer Foster
jfoster@alphaxidelta.org
Headquarters liasion
Colleen Kelty
ckelty@alphaxidelta.org
(317) 872-3500
Beta Sigma Psi 10 1.85% 9.26% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Mason Shaffer
mshaffer0498@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
John Hatfield
jrhfield@gmail.com
(618) 235-0014
Beta Theta Pi 32 25.86% 32.26% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Steve Blake
skblake@armstrongceilings.com
Headquarters liasion
Jacob Tidwell
Jacob.Tidwell@beta.org
(800) 800-2382
Chi Omega 22 6.52% 34.15% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Laura Dunn
lauraleedunn6@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Kelly Cremer
kelly.cremer@chiomega.com
(901) 748-8600
Christian Student Fellowship 0 0% 0% Not in quarantine
Delta Gamma 15 19.64% 5% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Sarah Clark
SarahC@deltagamma.org
Headquarters liasion
Sarah Clark
SarahC@deltagamma.org
(614) 481-8169
Delta Phi Epsilon 2 2.78% 0% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Meghan Yeager
MYeager@dphie.org
Headquarters liasion
Lauren Livengood
llivengood@dphie.org
(215) 732-5901
Delta Upsilon 18 0% 23.33% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Mike Lancioni
mike.lancioni@cardno.com
Headquarters liasion
Karl Grindel
grindel@deltau.org
(317) 875-8900
Delta Zeta 5 30.77% 14.29% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Marci Biggs
Propertymanagement@deltazeta.org
Headquarters liasion
Will Frankenberger
wrf@dzshq.com
(513) 523-7597
Evans Scholars 2 0% 2.08% Not in quarantine
Gamma Phi Beta** 39 NA 46.15% In quarantine
House Corporation Board
iugphiahc@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Michael McPhee
mmcphee@gammaphibeta.org
(217) 328-8531
Kappa Alpha Theta 13 0% 8.93% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Janet Roe
jgr@111designonline.com
Headquarters liasion
Katharine Murphy
KMurphy@kappaalphatheta.org
(800) 526-1870
Kappa Delta 23 4.29% 14.47% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Tina Choinacky
KDSigmaUpsilon@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Catherine Weiser
Catherine.Weiser@KappaDelta.org
(901) 748-1897
Kappa Kappa Gamma 35 32.08% NA In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Sarah Fischer
sfischer45@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Grace Conley
Chapter_services@kkg.org
(614) 228-6515
Lambda Chi Alpha 2 3.7% 0% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Joe Folkening
joe_folkening@yahoo.com
Headquarters liasion
Nathan Schultz
nschultz@lambdachi.org
(317) 872-8000
Phi Delta Theta 38 4.08% 65.91% In quarantine
House Corporation Board
pdtinalpha2020@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Todd Simmons
tsimmons@phideltatheta.org
(513) 523-6345
Phi Gamma Delta 22 16.46% 20.45% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Peter "Pete" King
pck@lawdogs.org
Headquarters liasion
Bryan Hartzell
bhartzell@phigam.org
(859) 255-1848
Phi Kappa Psi 36 25% 45.83% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Kevin Gordon
pkevingordon@sbcglobal.net
Headquarters liasion
Brian Kochheiser
btk@phikappapsi.com
(317) 632-1852
Phi Kappa Tau 0 0% 0% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Barry Kaufman
barry.j.kaufman@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Tristan Conroy
tconroy@phikappatau.org
(513) 523-4193
Phi Mu 8 1.92% 8.33% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Alice Hetland
Awh3204@msn.com
Headquarters liasion
Savannah Parramore
sparramore@phimu.org
(770) 632-2090
Phi Sigma Kappa 44 2.33% 76.92% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board
IUPSKHousingCorporation@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Grant Carpenter
grant@phisigmakappa.org
(317) 573-5420
Pi Beta Phi 36 9.09% 33.33% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Mary Jane Hall
gardenz4ever@hotmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Mackenzie Baker
mbaker@pibetaphi.org
(636) 256-0680
Pi Kappa Alpha 0 0% 0% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
John Lisher
Jlisher@ohllaw.com
Headquarters liasion
Nate Hills
nhills@pikes.org
(901) 748-1868
Pi Kappa Phi 9 15.79% 40.91% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Kyle Williams
kyle.p.williams.kw@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Brooke Kingsley Isbell
bisbell@pikapp.org
(704) 504-0888
Sigma Alpha Epsilon 20 47.37% 45.45% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Jake Showalter
jshowalter@saehousing.com
Headquarters liasion
Kyle Shatto
kshatto@sae.net
(847) 475-1856
Sigma Chi 26 66.67% 66.67% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Jeff Brown
jeff.brown@faegrebd.com
Headquarters liasion
Michael Church
mike.church@sigmachi.org
(847) 869-3655
Sigma Delta Tau 2 0.75% 2.22% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Sari Factor
sgfactor@gmail.com
Headquarters liasion
Annie Hardie
ahardie@sigmadeltatau.org
(317) 846-7747
Sigma Kappa 5 1.72% 1.82% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Peggy Cook
pcook@sigmakappa.org
Headquarters liasion
Jordan Barnett Feldhaus
JBarnett@sigmakappa.org
(317) 872-3275
Sigma Phi Epsilon 21 0% 56.25% In quarantine
House Corporation Board
Jake Guhy
housing@sigep.net
Headquarters liasion
Jake Guhy
housing@sigep.net
(804) 353.1901
Sigma Pi 3 0% 16.67% Not in quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Charlie Boyle
boyle-c@sbcglobal.net
Headquarters liasion
Scott Quinlan
squinlan@sigmapi.org
(615) 921-2300
Theta Chi 38 4.17% 76.32% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Tom Cooler
tomc@iuthetachi.com
Headquarters liasion
Ray Vanlanot
rvanlanot@thetachi.org
(317) 848-1856
Zeta Beta Tau 21 0% 40.91% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
John Birnbaum
jbirnbaum@aacrealty.com
Headquarters liasion
Melissa Kish
mkish@zbtnational.org
(317) 334-1898
Zeta Tau Alpha 21 9.52% 61.90% In quarantine
House Corporation Board President
Mary George Kipp
mgeokipp@aol.com
Headquarters liasion
Kyle Pendleton
kap@zetataualpha.org
317-872-0540
Grand total 798 8.10% 25.38%

**Gamma Phi Beta: due to incomplete house rosters, they did not participate in Week 1: Mitigation Testing; this has been resolved and they are included in all future mitigation testing.

NA indicates no test results that day.

Frequently Asked Questions

Recommended next steps

With mitigation testing positivity rates in some houses now above 50%, IU's team of public health experts is extremely concerned that houses are seeing uncontrolled spread of COVID-19. This poses a significant risk not only to the nearly 2,600 students living in Greek and other communal housing organizations, but the other 42,000 IU Bloomington students, the campus' 12,000 faculty and staff, and the community at large.

For residents of Greek houses and other communal living environments

  1. If you are able to safely return to your permanent residence to quarantine there or isolate there, please do so. If you cannot safely return home, you need to follow the guidance from your House Corporation Board regarding their quarantine and isolation plan. Residents who have a positive COVID-19 test or who have symptoms should remain in their current residence until the isolation period is complete. If you choose to leave the chapter to quarantine while your home is also under an active quarantine, you will need to start a new 14-day quarantine period beginning when you leave the house as you could have potentially been exposed to COVID-19 up to the point of when you moved out.
  2. Contact your chapter leader to ensure you know and understand your organization’s quarantine and isolation plans.
  3. Continue to follow any quarantine or isolation directions provided by your organization and/or the Monroe County Health Department.
  4. Do your part to support the health and safety of your residence as well as the broader IU community: wear a mask, physical distance, participate in contact tracing if contacted, follow through on mitigation testing if selected.

We before me

Our country and community continue to be in the thick of the global COVID-19 pandemic. While not everyone may agree on the seriousness of COVID-19, we must all take responsibility for doing our part to keep the community safe. IU Bloomington is committed to the academic success of all its students.